Many adventurers prefer self-propulsion. There are no noisy motors. Rather, there can be breeze in your face, sun on your skin and the beating of your heart, in rhythm with your soul, if you’re lucky. Delightful endorphins, abundant discovery and enriching fresh air transcend the routine, erasing complacency. Such privileges stoke my spirit and motivate me to pursue my elusive, greatest freedom.

Yesterday’s footrace was all of that and more, adding social interaction and competition. I’ll hope to do it again!

Today’s variation involved bicycles, enthusiasm and the sheer joy of pedaling. We happened to be in the foothills of the Blue Mountains. This heavenly experience offered soothing greenery, sweet fresh air, freedom from cars and invigorating blood flow. It was delightful!

During yesterday’s run, I may have approached ten miles per hour, at my fastest. Today, aided by gears and gravity, I entered a wilder zone. After a pleasant ascent of Cottonwood’s hill, the pavement ended. It was time to zoom! We hit thirty-three miles per hour. What a rush! Annie’s first thought? Let’s do it again!

