Definition:  Radically, somewhat randomly eating lots of carbohydrates.  Often associated with long-ass runs and other endurance tests.

Am I really in a danger zone? It’s taper time. Five more days until the last stage of evolution into marathon man. Apparently some people eat too much at this stage. Others eat too little. I’m eating whatever I want!

Some folks question whether they trained enough. Part of my mind joins that group, since we opted in only three months ago. Do I trust my training? Well, we did runs of 20, 18, 16, 14, 13.1, 13.1, 12, 11, 11 and 10 miles, plus many shorter runs. We ran intervals, races and hills. We ran in wind and heat. We are more ready to run long distances than at any other time of our lives. How will 26.2 miles feel?

There’s a significant chance of rain on race day. Will it rain? What to wear? How will our bodies hold up? More mysteries of life, yet to unfold!

Let's go twice as far!

Let’s go twice as far!

