Snake River Canyon half marathon in 2007; my second best time so far......

Snake River Canyon half marathon in 2007; my second best time so far……

Walking is basic self-propulsion.  Running is a step towards flying! Running re-charges my soul like nothing else. Many sports and activities are highly dependent on technology; you have to buy great gear to be competitive. Running is a great equalizer!  Many of the shoes are cool, but some of the best runners can go barefoot and still excel. Competitive running has wonderful transparency! You really can’t bullshit anyone about how much training you’ve done. It shows in your results! So my current shortage of training is clear.

Annie and I went shopping yesterday. One of our stops was to trade in her uncomfortable hiking boots. A wonderfully friendly and knowledgeable woman helped Annie pick new boots and supportive insoles. Annie walked in them afterwards and says they feel great.  More adventures to come!  Yay!

The woman who helped us is a runner, so we talked a lot about running and other adventures. She is really enjoying marathons. Now I feel excited about running again! Running has blessed me with many of the best highs of my life. Are there more to come?  I just returned from 80 minutes of running around Bennington Lake and Rooks Park. I want to run more often!  Maybe at the Tri-Cities Half Marathon?  How about the Badger Mountain Challenge? It’s so fun to meet healthy people!  🙂

