I’ve spent many years doing a lot of cardiovascular exercise, including running, bicycling, skiing, etc.  I have no regrets about doing any of that.  But I’m glad I can still learn.  Annie has opened my mind to doing focused weight lifting sets, including days focusing on building leg muscles.  I used to believe that my legs got plenty of work from my varietal activities.  Perhaps they got enough endurance work, but the lifting is building muscle like running never could.  Old Cats (go WSU Cougars!) can learn new tricks! 🙂

So today I’m sore and happy about it!  I’ll still work on my biceps and other upper body muscles.  But now I’ll have three different focus days a week:

  1. Legs.
  2. Back and biceps.
  3. Chest, shoulders and triceps.

Mixing in lots of abdominal and cardiovascular work, of various types, and shuffling the lifting exercises should keep my muscles confused, and growing healthier.  Then I can do whatever I want for fun!  🙂

