Such advice is good.  Yesterday was a great chance to be obedient! 

Annie and Zach and I had a great time at the WSU Challenge Program’s ropes course.  I was awakened to my sometimes defeatist attitude, which I thought was long gone, when I became convinced that I would not be able to succeed on some of the elements.  Yet we did succeed on each one attempted!  I skipped the climbing intensive ones (Giant’s Ladder and Over Beam), as I’m rehabilitating my elbow, but tasted much success and the amazing powers of teamwork, perseverance and “can do” attitudes.  I highly recommend this course to anyone who has never experienced such a course.  I especially enjoyed the Track N Trail (multiple high challenges) and the Mohawk Walk (team assisted cable walking).  I wonder if the things I considered “failures” in my life, which were really just experiences, built up a defeatist attitude, as a warped “protection” against really trying to succeed.

I received an opportunity for bonus growth at the end of the day.  When we returned to gather our personal belongings after putting away the climbing gear, I discovered that someone had stolen my brand new rain jacket, which had the clip-on sunglasses for my prescription glasses in a pocket.  My first feelings were of  being violated, disappointment and anger.  Luckily, I quickly switched to making a gratitude list and putting it into perspective.  Sure, I was $275 poorer, presumably because of someone’s selfish, lazy greed.  But the worst option was to make myself spiritually poorer by holding the negative feelings.  I’ve been given many opportunities in my life to learn to let people and things go.  This was just another test in letting go.  So to the perpetrator: please send your address, so I can send you my shirt!  ( :

Trail

