The beauty of diverse ideas on the internet is that we get wonderful training in sorting out the usefulness of opinions shared.  It’s “take what you can use, and leave the rest.”  We’re all hopefully striving to grow, as we are not all-knowing.  Some people are farther along their journey on a particular topic, some not as far.  Perhaps any growth hinges on our open-mindedness.  Can we consider other views?  Especially if they seem like ideas that we previously discarded?  Can our egos allow us to admit when we are wrong?  Do we have that level of honesty?  A key question is not whether we will be wrong, since we will be.  Will we recognize truth and grow from it?  Or stifle our growth with stubborn pride?

Can we find in ourselves enough willingness to try new things?  Is this not a prerequisite to growth?  Let us not forget my favorite definition of insanity:  doing the same things over and over, while hoping for different results.  Again, stubbornness is NOT a virtue!

I struggled along for months with a computer that did not allow me to see WordPress’ reader function.  That is, I couldn’t see your new posts unless I went to your site.  On Black Friday, I bought a MacBook Pro; it’s truly a “Pro” compared to the old junker!  Now I can see your posts fly by, quickly filling my mind with information, opinions, humor, poetry, etc.  It’s fast-track training in evaluating information.  I think it’s teaching us a lot about life.  Will our future be enhanced by new perspectives?  Well, we really only have now, but for me, it feels good!

